Jerry Weinstein Award

Description: The Jerry Weinstein Memorial Award is presented each year to individuals who exemplify commitment, dedication and extraordinary achievement in support of Glenbard South’s students and community as demonstrated by the late Jerry Weinstein, South’s first Boosters president.  The award is typically presented at halftime of a varsity football game, most recently during Raider Pride Night. The winners are also honored with inscriptions on a plaque in the halls of the high school.  

Qualifications: There is no one list of qualifications for the award. A nominee may be a previous Boosters President. Jerry Weinstein was the first GS Boosters President and died suddenly.  Nominees are to have been exemplary community volunteers who achieved great strides and/or notable lasting contributions to the Glenbard South community. In almost all cases, they have had children at Glenbard South. The award has been given after all children have graduated from South.

Nominations: All are welcome to nominate candidates for the award. Self-nominations are welcome and encouraged. Please complete the nomination form and submit to or mail to Boosters, Glenbard South High School, 23W200 Butterfield Road, Glen Ellyn, IL 60137. Nominations are welcome anytime and will be considered by the Boosters Board in the spring, typically May, of each year.

Weinstein Award Nomination form 5.1.17

AWARD RECIPIENTS  – 1988 (inception) to present

2018- Carol Asslemeier, Dr. Marc Asselmeier, Roseann Griffin and Phil Griffin

2017 – Anne Schmalandt and Chris & Bob Parratore

2016 – Anne Bouchard and Cindy Christensen

2015 – Cyndy and Daniel Steinbach

2014 – Susan and Peter Rejuila

2013 – Jim and Diane McKean

2012 – John and Jane Yasak

2011 – Bill and Lori Lewis

2010 – Tom and Judy Kuhlman

2009 – Val and Jim Carroll

2008 – Tom and Laura Rose

2007 – Robert and Anne Marie Wall

2006 – Cori and Fred Romano

2005 – Joan and Dwight Rose

2004 – Pat and Steve Remis

2003 – Bob and Sue Cuthbertson

2002 – Paul and Priscilla Kuchuris

2001 – Bill and Sandy Pihos

2000 – Tom and Bobbi Frey

1999 – Mike and Mary Ellen Finnane

1998 – Dennis and Harriet Ives

1997 – Eileen and Bill Scheidhauer

1996 – Dave and Terry Kathman

1995 – Ginny Meyers

1994 – Joe and Judy Sapit

1993 – Jim and Barb Bunning

1992 – Helen and Phil Read

1991 – Oscar Dahms

1990 – John and Babs Cleary

1989 – Len DiForte

1988 – Jerry Weinstein